First Gem County Officials

Governor Alexander signed the bill that created Gem County. Joe Tyler was State Representative and E. K. Hays was State Senator. The following officers were appointed by the Governor and took the oath of office July 5, 1915:

John McNish, County Commissioner
James Kesgard, County Commissioner
W. A. Talley, County Commissioner; Sam Coughton had been appointed but died soon after and Talley was chosen to fill the office.
David McGowen, Assessor
J. P. Reed, County Attorney
R. B. Wilson, Auditor
David Murray, County Treasurer
Bessie Van Horton, County Supt.
A. O. Sutton, Probate Judge
David Nichols, Sheriff
Elmer Forshay, surveyor

See photo collage at the museum.

Copyright © 2013 - All Rights Reserved.

Unless otherwise attributed, all photos and text are the property of Gem County Historical Society

Serving Gem County since 1973.

Wednesday - Saturday 1:00pm - 5:00pm & by appointment    ::    Extended hours during The Cherry Festival in June.